< back to full list of articles
Chicago Poet & IBPA Board Member, Haki R. Madhubuti, Wins National Award

or Article Tags


News Release from

Contact: Media Department, twpress3@aol.com, 773-651-0700

Third World Press is pleased to announce that Haki R. Madhubuti is one of three recipients of the 2014 Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award.  This award celebrates authors who have given generously to other writers or to the broader literary community. Nominations are solicited from past winners, other prominent writers, members of the publishing community, and Poets & Writers’ Board and staff. These nominations are reviewed and winners selected by a committee comprised of current and past members of the Board of Directors. Also recognized this year for their work with writers and the literary community are Joyce Carol Oates and Ian Frazier.

The Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Awards along with the Editor’s Award will be presented at Poets & Writers’ annual dinner, In Celebration of Writers, on Tuesday, March 11, 2014, in New York City.

RollingOut Magazine shoot with SmokeyHaki R. Madhubuti is a leading poet and one of the architects of the Black Arts Movement. As a publisher, editor, and educator he has been a pivotal figure in the development of a strong Black literary tradition and a proponent of independent Black institutions. He is the author of more than thirty books, including Black Men: Obsolete, Single, Dangerous?: The Afrikan American Family in Transition (1990), which has sold more than one million copies, and his poems and essays have been widely anthologized. Professor Madhubuti was selected to receive the Writers for Writers Award in recognition of his efforts to expand opportunities for African American writers. Those efforts include founding Third World Press, leading the establishment of the Gwendolyn Brooks Poetry Center at Chicago State University, and creating an MFA program at Chicago State that is one of the only graduate creative writing programs at a predominantly African American university, with a curriculum rooted in African American literature.

The Writers for Writers Awards were first presented in 1996. Among the previous awardees are Walter Mosley, Arthur Miller, Rita Dove, Maxine Hong Kingston, Steven King, John Grisham, and Elizabeth Nunez.

Visit www.thirdworldpressbooks.com for more information about Third World Press titles, authors, and upcoming events.

Connect With Us

1020 Manhattan Beach Blvd., Suite 204 Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
P: 310-546-1818 F: 310-546-3939 E: info@IBPA-online.org
© Independent Book Publishers Association